Victory rug

by

This carpet, which has just appeared on internet dealers’ sites, references the memorial monument at Darb Qandahar, a busy street intersection in Herat. On evidence provided by Nasser Halimi, the monument was created in 2002 on the instigation of the then Governor of Herat Ismail Khan. Nasser has discovered that the figures were sculpted by a local mason, trained in Iran, named Khalifa Rahman, who now lives in Zeyarat Jah, in Herat province. The monument memorialises the defeat of the Soviets, which (it could be said) began with the Herat uprising in March 1979.

2 Responses to “Victory rug”

  1. Donald Keenan Says:

    Hi…I own a version of this “victory rug”. THANKS for the background information!!! I have a large but modest (in comparison to Max Allen) war rug collection. I have many rugs in a similar motif as the ones Max Allen has on exhibit. For instance, I have a Massoud rug and also a map of East/West Germany with contiguous neighbors, though mine doesn’t have any military motifs. (I’ve only been able to see the virtual exhibit online of Max Allen’s collection; I don’t think I’ll be able to afford the the trip from NY to Toronto after my last rug purchase, though I’d love to see it. Maybe I should donate my collection to the Textile Museum of Canada if I don’t find a home for them here in the USA.

  2. Mixed Memorials: how war rug iconography can morph from one subject to another. | Says:

    […] Another version of this image is posted here. […]

Leave a Reply

